Seacow Head Lighthouse is one
of the oldest structures on PEI.
octagonal, heavy-framed lighthouse
stands 18.3 metres high and measures 3.4 metres
per side at the base. The cedar sided,
wood structure is capped with a metal light
housing which contains the lamp.
The name "Seacow Head" was
given in reference to the walrus, formerly
abundant in nearby waters.
Seacow Lighthouse was
automated on November 12, 1959, and the Keeper's
was sold on March 7, 1960 and removed from the
site. The lighthouse tower was moved back from an eroding
bank in 1979.
Seacow Head Lighthouse
is one of the most picturesque beacons
in Canada and has appeared in the opening
scene of Sullivan Productions Anne of Green
Gables, many of the episodes of Road to Avonlea, which were
adapted from books by Lucy Maude
Montgomery. Two mock-ups of the
Seacow Head Lighthouse, one of which was
cut short for scenes that took place at
the top of the lighthouse, were
constructed near Uxbridge,
Ontario, for use in the production.